top of page

About the EU-South East Asia Aviation Partnership Project


Project Background

EASA is implementing the EU-South East Asia Aviation Partnership Project (APP) on behalf of the European Commission.  The project's partner countries are all members of ASEAN: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. ASEAN has a combined population of approximately 625 million people or 8.8% of the world's population.

Air travel to, from, and within the region is projected to grow at an average annual growth rate of 6.6% over the next 20 years as passenger demand is stimulated by low cost carriers with low fares and new routes. This brings opportunities but also challenges: operationally there are concerns on the capacity of South East Asia’s systems and infrastructure to cope with the current level of traffic growth. To enable the region to achieve its full potential, this growth must be underpinned by high standards of aviation safety, security and environmental protection.

The EU-South East Asia Aviation Partnership Project will coordinate with the ARISE Plus Civil Aviation project, ASEAN Secretariat, ICAO Asia Pacific office and the ICAO Co-operative Development of Operational Safety and Continuing Airworthiness Programme – South East Asia (COSCAP-SEA).

Project objectives

The overall objective of the project is to enhance political, economic and environmental partnership between the EU and South East Asia in the domain of civil aviation.

The expected results of this project are:

  • Result 1: Enhanced policy dialogue and stronger institutional links;

  • Result 2: Safer and more harmonised market for aviation industry; and

  • Result 3: Raised standard of environmental protection and climate change action.

To know more about our activities, please see our list of future activities and past events.


The project is funded by the European Union 

and implemented by the European Union Aviation Safety Agency

bottom of page